Surreal, Immersive Fun at the Clocktower

I have had the most fun morning this morning at the final day of the film festival , really getting grips with, and enjoying, St Albans.

St Albans embracing the film festival

St Albans embracing the film festival

Aside from all the quirky shops and the busy farmers market, I found myself walking right past a flash mob in the market place this morning and a pop-up bandstand!

Music and dance mixed in with the film festival bring a great vibe to the city

Music and dance mixed in with the film festival bring a great vibe to the city

I went to St Albans Clocktower to experience the surreal cinema. At this venue a variety of costumed actors guide you through a story before a film viewing which gels the performances together and as the person greeting me at the tower explained “it will all make sense at the end”.

At the Clocktower

At the Clocktower

Climbing up the tiny, dark spiral staircase sure was a bit sinister and claustrophobic – a great atmosphere for an immersive experience such as this. Each level had something different going on, and at one point I came face-to-face with a giant ant!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After being handed a fly-filled lollipop (yes, completely bizarre – but cool) it was time to move on. I’ll leave visitors to experience the surreal cinema themselves, without revealing too much, but its definitely a good place to visit for a bit of fun.

Lollies with flies in

Lollies with flies in

Next, I made my way to The Maltings Arts Theatre where I saw The Culture Cart again, making Lino prints, even better, I got to see the bike this time.

Culture Cart Prints

Culture Cart Prints

Leave a Reply

